i didn’t spend a lot of time on this.

~ by hollaphonic on 10/30/2011.

5 Responses to “i didn’t spend a lot of time on this.”

  1. No one has a guarantee that they’ll pass on their good genes. Sometimes stuff just happens. Even if you get a “perfect” kid bad stuff can happen. I knew a girl who had been in 2 car accidents and suffered traumatic brain injury from each. Met her in a sign language class in college. It took her a long time to mentally get from A to B, but she was doing it.

    Point is, even smug people that think they’ve hit the genetic perfection lotto can suddenly have a kid with disabilities. I wouldn’t worry too much, but that’s because I had a perfect pregnancy that turned into a very different life than I imagined. Without surgery to correct his heart defect (which not too long ago would have been denied because of his Down syndrome), my son would have had an average life expectancy of 4 years, maximum of 7. He’ll be 7 in June so it’s on my mind a lot. If that had been all we got, I still would have wanted him in my life. It would suck to lose him (OBVIOUSLY) but I would have been happier to have the little bit of time than none at all.

    Blah, blah. There’s always adoption. Catch me on the right day and I’ll ship mine off to you so you can test drive the idea. 😀

    • all i can think about now is being in a life-changing car accident. i have a whole new set of worries beyond CF. thanks! (sarcasm.)

      that seems especially cruel to have ever refused surgery for a baby with down syndrome. wtf. i’m glad he’s cool and you’re cool. (you can keep your young’uns…that would also be cruel to have them live with me. i can’t even take care of *myself*.) (serious.)

  2. Oh, also, I hope you’re ok.

    • ha. thanks. me too. although, i’ve put off calling the doctor. psychiatrist doesn’t think there’s anything to worry about. that should say something right? besides she may not know what she’s talking about….

  3. you should do a book of comics of your life. i would buy it.

Leave a comment